

**Jefferson County Education Service District** 

# **SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES**

# Wednesday, April 5, 2023

Hybrid: In-person and Electronic Meeting via Zoom REMOTE ACCESS:

ACCESS ZOOM MEETING HERE Meeting ID: 825 5443 9641 Passcode: 693957 Phone +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)

### **IN-PERSON LOCATION:**

JCSD 509J, SSB Board Conference Room, 445 SE Buff Street, Madras, OR 97741

**2022/2023 Board Members:** Chair Joan Starkel; Vice-Chair Daniel Petke; Jamie McLeod-Skinner; Dani Cowdrey; Barbara Ibrahim; Raylene Thomas **2022/2023 Board Advisors:** Sue Matters and Charlene

**BOARD OF DIRECTORS ATTENDANCE:** Chair Joan Starkel, Vice-Chair Daniel Petke, Dani Cowdrey, Barbara Ibrahim, and Jamie McLeod-Skinner

**ABSENT:** Raylene Thomas

ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE: Sue Matters

#### WELCOME - SPECIAL SESSION / CALL TO ORDER

Board Chair Joan Starkel called the meeting to order @5:34pm.

#### **ROLL CALL OF BOARD MEMBERS**

Board Chair Joan Starkel took a roll call and the Board Secretary documented board member attendance.

#### PURPOSE OF SPECIAL MEETING / DISCUSSION / QUESTIONS

Board Chair Joan Starkel explained the purpose of the special board meeting is to appoint a budget committee member to the vacant Culver seat prior to the budget committee meeting. The position became available because the current committee member (Stefanie Garber, position 2, Culver) became an employee of the JCESD and Mr. Scott Leeper graciously volunteered.

Board Chair Joan Starkel then called for a motion.

#### ACTION ITEM

Dani Cowdrey made a motion to appoint Scott Leeper to the vacant budget committee Member to Culver position, seconded by Jamie McLeod-Skinner; motion passed unanimously – **Approved 5/0** (1-absent, 1-vacant position).

Board Chair Starkel announced, Scott Leeper is now the newly appointed budget committee member for Culver, position 2.

#### SPECIAL MEETING CLOSURE/ADJOURNED

Board Chair Starkel adjourned the special meeting at 5:36pm.

## DRAFT to Board for Approval at next meeting: May 3, 2023

Tessa Bailey, Board Secretary

Board Chair Joan Starkel or Vice-Chair Daniel Petke

Superintendent Shay Mikalson

Date

Date